Constructed between 1882 and late 1884, The Residence is part of the original main building of Methodist Ladies' College (MLC). Designed by prominent Melbourne architects Crouch and Wilson and built by James Bonham, its heavily decorated Gothic-style exterior and prominent tower, described as 'one of the most commanding educational buildings in Melbourne', are landmarks in the Kew and Hawthorn area. MLC's inaugural participation in Open House Melbourne offers visitors the opportunity to enter the beautiful main foyer with its original stained and painted glass windows and tessellated flooring, and to view period-furnished rooms inside The Residence (the former home of MLC Principals). Guests will also visit the Heritage Room to learn more about MLC's 134-year history. Visitors enter the MLC grounds via the Krome Memorial Gates erected in 1923 at the corner of Glenferrie and Barkers Roads. Designed by architect Alec Stanley Eggleston and manufactured by C.R. Caslake, the ornate wrought iron gates commemorate a former MLC Headmaster whose poignant experience during WWI will be discussed. The tour will also include time in the historical front gardens, highlighting the 1885 fountain and 120-year-old cedar tree. MLC looks forward to welcoming visitors with pre-booked tours on Sunday, 31 July.